Maiolo claims AHG spoils

BRAD Maiolo was presented with the main trophy in WA sprintcar racing on Saturday night after he claimed back-to-back victories in the AHG Sprintcar Series.

Maiolo won the season-long battle for the second time after claiming 2076 points – starting his run on the series that was dominated for many years by older brother Jamie.

Jason Kendrick was runner up again, this time on 2060 points, and has vowed to push Maiolo even harder again next year.

Third was a former series winner Ben Ellement on 2020 in a series that promised so much, but with Ellement wanting even more.

James Inglis, who has only been racing sprintcars for two seasons, was fourth on 1948, ahead of Mitchell Wormall on 1836.

The top 10 was rounded out by Cameron Gessner, Scott Chatwin, Jamie Maiolo, David Priolo and Kye Scroop.

The awards function was held at Burswood on Swan and was a combined event between the Sprintcar Entrants Group and the Sprintcar Association of WA.

Kaiden Manders was presented with the trophy for winning the 360 Power Series on 1711 points from Michael Keen on 1311 and Paul Peet on 1294.

It was a dominant season for Manders who has only been in sprintcar racing for a short period of time after making the transition from an equally short, but successful speedcar career.

SAWA perpetual trophy winners:

Most improved – Mitchell Wormall and Daniel Keen
Rookie of the Year – Tom Hooper
King of Crash – Jamie Landrigan
Hard Luck Award – Scott Chatwin
Achievement Award – Jason Kendrick (for winning the Perth Motorplex track championship and Driver of the Year awards, winner of the most feature races won and others)
Best Presented Car – LJM Racing
Best Presented Crew – Kendrick Racing
Club Person – Lisa Wood
Fastest laps in heats and features at Perth Motorplex – Shaun Bradford

360 awards:
Encouragement Award – Paul Peet
Driver with most potential – Kaiden Manders
Bonza Bradford Memorial Award – 1st Kaiden Manders, 2nd Daniel Keen, 3rd Michael Keen
State Title – Mitchell Wormall
Most feature race wins – Kaiden Manders and Daniel Keen
Feature race Champion – Kaiden Manders

410 awards:
Encouragement Award – Mitchell Wormall
Driver with Most Potential – James Inglis
Bonza Bradford Memorial Trophy – 3rd Ben Ellement, 2nd Brad Maiolo, 1st Jason Kendrick.
State Title – Tim Van Ginnekin
Most Feature Race Firsts – Jason Kendrick
Feature Race Champion – Jason Kendrick
2017 AHG Easy as 123 Triple Crown – 1st Jason Kendrick, 2nd Jason Pryde, 3rd Luke Dillon.
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Sunday, May 20, 2018

::  Winter Sprintcar Series Round 2

Sunday, April 15, 2018

::  Winter Sprintcar Series Round 1

Saturday, April 7, 2018

::  96FM PowerPalooza Grand Final

Sunday, March 18, 2018

::  Australian 360ci Sprintcar Title Final

Saturday, March 17, 2018

::  Australian 360ci Sprintcar Title Night 1

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel