Kendrick claims sprintcar hat-trick

JASON Kendrick won his third successive feature race when he claimed round 10 of the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series at the Perth Motorplex Saturday night.

Kendrick claimed the 30-lap feature race from Taylor Milling and Kye Scroop in what became a race of attrition and where drivers were challenged on a tough track where the fast line for much of it was up on the fence.

Not only did Kendrick claim the win, but he has also shot to the lead in the series after banking double points - courtesy of playing his Joker card on this round.

Each driver could play a Joker card once up until Saturday night - all they had to do was declare it at the start of the show and then roll the dice - hoping they would get a good feature race result and double their points for that round.

Heading into round 10 Kendrick was third in the points, behind Jamie and Brad Maiolo who played their Jokers earlier in the season.

Going against the two-car LJM Racing team in the feature race was contact between the two cars while they were battling for second place, putting them both out with costly DNFs.

The race only lasted the first corner before there was carnage - seeing American Harli White, Kaiden Manders, Tom Payet and Andrew Priolo out.

Jaydee Dack and Matt Iwanow started on the front row and it was Dack who led early from Ben Ellement who started fourth and tucked into second quickly.

After getting closer each lap Ellement had a move on Dack on lap eight and unfortunately for the latter, he then ran too high in pits bend and clouted the fence, ending his run seconds later.

Unfortunately for Ellement his strong run only lasted a couple more laps before he pulled up with engine issues.

Kendrick, who started mid pack, took over the lead on lap 15 and despite a late-race speculator from Brad Maiolo, was in control for the run to the checkers.

Taylor Milling who started from P7, likened himself to Australian speedskating Olympic champion Steven Bradbury by taking second.

It was Milling’s first podium and something he realised was achievable in the latter stages when he realised he could still see the leaders in front of him and then the Maiolos took each other out.

He started from P7 and moved up to P5 in the first couple of laps before dropping back to sixth on two occasions before his late-race move forward.

Scroop took third after starting from the third row and claimed his second podium of the season.

It was a big recovery after spinning out early and resuming from the rear.

After getting up to sixth by lap 15, he dropped a couple of spots and then see-sawed - down as low as eighth before also having a strong finish to the race.

Darren Mewett started from P3 and finished fourth after dropping as low as seventh at one stage.

AJ Nash, in his first race back after a massive crash on Boxing Day, took fifth after starting from P9.

Iwanow was the only other finisher, in sixth.

Round 11 of the series will be held at Bunbury Speedway next Saturday night.

Heat 1: 1st Kye Scroop, 2nd Jamie Maiolo, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Taylor Milling, 5th Matthew Iwanow. DNS: Harli White and Tom Payet.

Heat 2: 1st Kaiden Manders, 2nd Ben Ellement, 3rd Andrew Priolo, 4th AJ Nash, 5th Brad Maiolo, 6th Jaydee Dack, 7th Darren Mewett.

Heat 3: 1st Brad Maiolo, 2nd Andrew Priolo, 3rd Jamie Maiolo, 4th Kye Scroop, 5th Tom Payet, 6th Darren Mewett. DNS: AJ Nash.

Heat 4: 1st Ben Ellement, 2nd Harli White, 3rd Kaiden Manders, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Jaydee Dack, 6th Taylor Milling, 7th Matthew Iwanow.

Feature: 1st Jason Kendrick, 2nd Taylor Milling, 3rd Kye Scroop, 4th Darren Mewett, 5th AJ Nash, 6th Matthew Iwanow. DNF: Jamie Maiolo, Brad Maiolo, Ben Ellement, Jaydee Dack, Harli White, Kaiden Manders, Tom Payet and Andrew Priolo.

Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series top 20 points: Jason Kendrick 1724, Jamie Maiolo 1714, Brad Maiolo 1696, Kaiden Manders 1536, Kye Scroop 1348, Tom Payet 1328, Andrew Priolo 1328, Taylor Milling 1125, Chace Karpenko 1112, Jason Pryde 928, Ben Ellement 920, Jamie Oldfield 862, Mitchell Wormall 846, AJ Nash 694, Harli White 688, Shaun Bradford 684, James Inglis 622, Parker Price-Miller 572, Mark Dobmeier 540, Darren Mewett 538
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, October 23, 2021

::  Shannons Powerpalooza

Saturday, April 17, 2021

::  Super Speedway Grand Final

Saturday, March 27, 2021

::  Sprintcar Gold Cup

Saturday, March 13, 2021

::  AAA Metal Recycling Krikke Boys Shootout

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel