Madsen mauls Motorplex field

AUSTRALIAN sprintcar champion Kerry Madsen put on a clinic when he won the 30-lap World Series Sprintcars A Main by a massive nine seconds at the Perth Motorplex on Friday night.

Madsen started from pole and was never challenged in the awesome feature race that saw challenges and slide jobs right through the pack.

In fact Madsen was about the only one not challenged as he crushed the opposition, crossing the line ahead of Jamie Veal (from P2) and Jason Kendrick (from P4).

It only took Madsen five laps to get into lapped traffic and start sliding his way through the backmarkers.

The field regrouped on lap six when Callum Williamson spun in turns 1-2 and officials relegated Ian Madsen two spots for jumping the original start.

There were some great battles between David Priolo, Jason Kendrick and Veal that saw the occasional contact between cars and wall banging.

Unfortunately this took its toll on the Priolo car that headed infield with three laps remaining.

James McFadden, who started from P6 and is leading the WSS championship from Veal heading into the final round on Saturday night, took fourth.

Ian Madsen, despite his penalty, moved forward and after starting from P12 he finished a credible fifth in an awesome drive.

Cameron Gessner started from fifth and held his own for much of the race to take sixth in another workmanlike performance.

Brooke Tatnell, who won in Bunbury last weekend, started and finished seventh.

The Victorian-based WA champion in Tim Van Ginneken, started from P16 after being forced to qualify via the B Main and hauled the V86 home hard, taking eighth.

Steven Lines started from P8 but nearly didn’t take his spot after officials stopped the car to check broken suspension before allowing him to start.

He finished ninth while Brad Maiolo rounded out the top 10 after starting from P10.

Madsen’s win capped off a dominant night behind the wheel of the A1, topping the charts in qualifying ahead of Veal and McFadden.

He then claimed a third and a second in the heat races and won the Gold Dash to start from pole.

Daniel Harding finished 12th which was not a bad recovery considering he had rear-end issues in the W12 during hotlaps and failed to claim a qualifying time.

He started from the front row and won both his heat races and also the B Main to start from P15.

QUALIFYING: Kerry Madsen 13.813, Jamie Veal 13.982, James McFadden 14.346, Chad Ely 14.369, Brooke Tatnell 14.378, Trent Pigdon 14.416, Tim Van Ginneken 14.424, David Priolo 14.431, Callum Williamson 14.460, Jason Kendrick 14.448, Steven Lines 14.451, Carl Dowling 14.475, Brad Maiolo 14.479, Cameron Gessner 14.518, Ben Ellement 14.519, Ian Madsen 14.636, Jamie Landrigan 14.667, Lee Nash 14.717, James Inglis 14.729, Taylor Milling 14.747, Jason Pryde 14.764, Kye Scroop 14.852, Andrew Priolo 14.881, Mitchell Wormall 14.828, Scott Chatwin 15.554, Daniel Harding NTT.

Heat 1: 1st Taylor Milling, 2nd Ben Ellement, 3rd Kerry Madsen, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Callum Williamson, 6th Andrew Priolo. DNF: Jamie Landrigan. DNS: Chad Ely. DQ Tim Ginneken.

Heat 2: 1st David Priolo, 2nd Mitchell Wormall, 3rd Jamie Maiolo, 4th Scott Chatwin, 5th Jamie Veal, 6th Lee Nash, 7th Brooke Tatnell, 8th Carl Dowling, 9th Jason Pryde.

Heat 3: 1st Daniel Harding, 2nd Steven Lines, 3rd Ian Madsen, 4th Cameron Gessner, 5th Bradley Maiolo, 6th James McFadden, 7th Trent Pigdon, 8th Kye Scroop, 9th James Inglis.

Heat 4: 1st Jason Kendrick, 2nd Kerry Madsen, 3rd Jason Pryde, 4th Brooke Tatnell, 5th Mitchell Wormall, 6th Tim Van Ginneken, 7th Carl Dowling. DNF: Andrew Priolo. DNS: Jamie Landrigan.

Heat 5: 1st Daniel Harding, 2nd Cameron Gessner, 3rd Ben Ellement, 4th James Inglis, 5th James McFadden, 6th Steven Lines, 7th Callum Williamson, 8th Taylor Milling. DNS: Chad Ely.

Heat 6: 1st Kye Scroop, 2nd Ian Madsen, 3rd David Priolo, 4th Jamie Veal, 5th Bradley Maiolo, 6th Jamie Maiolo, 7th Trent Pigdon, 8th Lee Nash, 9th Scott Chatwin.

Bronze Dash: Jason Kendrick 14.162, Cameron Gessner 14.321, Brooke Tatnell 14.388, Steven Lines 14.599.

Silver Dash: Jason Kendrick 14.184, Jamie Veal 14.230, Cameron Gessner 14.282 and James McFadden 14.401.

Gold Dash: Kerry Madsen 13.990, Jamie Veal 14.203, David Priolo 14.260, Jason Kendrick 14.296.

B Main: 1st Daniel Harding, 2nd Tim Van Ginneken, 3rd Carl Dowling, 4th Lee Nash, 5th James Inglis, 6th Mitchell Wormall, 7th Kye Scroop, 8th Taylor Milling, 9th Jamie Landrigan, 10th Jason Pryde, 11th Scott Chatwin. DNS: Andrew Priolo, Chad Ely.

A Main: 1st Kerry Madsen, 2nd Jamie Veal, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th James McFadden, 5th Ian Madsen, 6th Cameron Gessner, 7th Brooke Tatnell, 8th Tim Van Ginneken, 9th Steven Lines, 10th Bradley Maiolo, 11th Jamie Maiolo, 12th Daniel Harding, 13th Carl Dowling, 14th James Inglis, 15th Ben Ellement, 16th Mitchell Wormall, 17th Callum Williamson. DNF: David Priolo (lap 27), Trent Pigdon (lap 27) and Lee Nash (lap 11).
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Sunday, May 20, 2018

::  Winter Sprintcar Series Round 2

Sunday, April 15, 2018

::  Winter Sprintcar Series Round 1

Saturday, April 7, 2018

::  96FM PowerPalooza Grand Final

Sunday, March 18, 2018

::  Australian 360ci Sprintcar Title Final

Saturday, March 17, 2018

::  Australian 360ci Sprintcar Title Night 1

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel