Maiolo primed for series win

BRAD Maiolo is in the box seat to win back to back AHG Sprintcar Series championships.

The final round of the 2016-17 championship will be held at Quit Bunbury Speedway this Saturday night – the first night of the two-night Krikke Boys Shootout.

Maiolo has 1968 points – 46 better than Jason Kendrick on 1922 who is 18 points in front of Ben Ellement on 1904 points.

The championship points are only determined on feature races – paying 150 for a win, 146 for second, 144 for third etc.

As long as Maiolo starts the feature race he is pretty much guaranteed the championship – even if Kendrick wins the race.

Given there are 22 cars nominated for Bunbury and even if Maiolo finished last or was the first driver to crash out in a 22-car field, he would get dropout points – 106.

The margin between 22nd and first is 44 points and Maiolo would just scrape in for the win if Kendrick won and claimed 150 points.

If there were more than 22 cars then the scenario would get a little bit more interesting – or if he didn’t start the feature race.

It might seem like a simple solution – but sprintcar racing isn’t simple – and things don’t always go according to the script.

How will it play out?

Be at the Krikke Boys Shootout on Saturday night to find out.

Brooke Tatnell
Steven Lines
Daniel Harding
Jason Pryde
James McFadden
Trent Pigdon
Brodie Minchin
Chad Ely
Jamie Landrigan
Jamie Veal
Cameron Gessner
Ben Ellement
Lee Redmond
Luke Dillon
Darren Mewett
Callum Williamson
Brad Maiolo
Scott Chatwin
James Inglis
Jason Kendrick
Jamie Maiolo
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Sunday, May 20, 2018

::  Winter Sprintcar Series Round 2

Sunday, April 15, 2018

::  Winter Sprintcar Series Round 1

Saturday, April 7, 2018

::  96FM PowerPalooza Grand Final

Sunday, March 18, 2018

::  Australian 360ci Sprintcar Title Final

Saturday, March 17, 2018

::  Australian 360ci Sprintcar Title Night 1

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel