McFadden wins Friday night thriller

James McFadden led from start to finish to claim the penultimate round of World Series Sprintcars at the Perth Motorplex on Friday night.

He won the 35-lap feature race from Steven Lines, Kerry Madsen, Brooke Tatnell and Jason Kendrick in what was also round 14 of the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series.

McFadden didn’t falter in the main event, taking the win by 2.167 seconds, looking masterful in heavy lapped traffic that saw 21 of the 24 cars complete the journey.

The Monte Motorsport pilot started on pole after claiming the Gold Shootout.

Earlier in the night he was ninth in qualifying that saw Brooke Tatnell set Quick Time in the Diamond Bay Motorsport W26.

In the heat races McFadden was second and fifth.

Lines started from P2 and held that spot for the entire distance, finishing a commanding 10 seconds in front of Madsen.

At the start of the show Lines was 12th in qualifying from the 31 cars that ran against the clock and then he claimed a pair of seconds in his heats.

He then progressed up the order in the Shootouts, winning both the Bronze and Silver rounds, only to be bettered by McFadden in the Gold bout.

Madsen started and finished third after being second quickest at the start of the show.

He took a third and a second in the heats.

Tatnell was in a solid position at the start of the night thanks to his Quick Time and then he gained more points with a sixth and a fifth in the heats.

Kendrick started from P16 and as a result he claimed the Hard Charger award, working his magic in heavy traffic to salvage a good result - after he was uncharacteristically off the mark in qualifying, being 23rd, before he took a win and a third in the heat races.

Kaiden Manders was sixth after starting from P9, and he crossed the line ahead of Ben Ellement who came from P5, Brad Maiolo (from P11), Jack Lee (from P13) and Rusty Hickman who started P8 and rounded out the top 10.

The race only went a handful of laps for AJ Nash who started from the impressive sixth spot, but unfortunately limped to the infield with a flat left rear.

This was just after Kye Scroop hit the fence in the first turn after just four laps were in the book.

Ben Van Ryt was out of the show after just five laps when he rolled the W75 in a similar spot to Scroop’s undoing

Saturday night sees the Grand Final of World Series Sprintcars and the second last round of the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series at the same venue.

The local series will wrap up at the Krikke Boys at Bunbury Speedway next Saturday, March 2.

Jason Kendrick has a commanding lead, on 2276 points, ahead of Jamie Maiolo on 2160, Brad Maiolo 2152, Kaiden Manders 2072 and Kye Scroop 1844.


Qualifying: Brooke Tatnell 13.479, Kerry Madsen 13.511, Rusty Hickman 13.603, AJ Nash 13.622, Daniel Harding 13.644, Ben Van Ryt 13.652, Kaiden Manders 13.678, Brad Maiolo 13.752, James McFadden 13.753, Shaun Bradford 13.917, Ben Ellement 13.934, Steven Lines 13.957, Taylor Milling 13.968, James Inglis 13.979, Mitchell Wormall 14.036, Kye Scroop 14.049, Jack Lee 14.060, Callum Williamson 14.097, Tom Payet 14.131, Danny Porter 14.143, Jamie Oldfield 14.154, Jye O’Keeffe 14.174, Jason Kendrick 14.202, Jason Pryde 14.260, Harli White 14.268, Lachlan McHugh 14.345, Jamie Maiolo 14.372, Andrew Priolo 14.402, Glen Sutherland 14.406, Daniel Keen 14.427, Michael Keen 14.943.

Heat 1: 1st Tom Payet, 2nd Steven Lines, 3rd Jason Pryde, 4th Taylor Milling, 5th Kaiden Manders, 6th Brooke Tatnell, 7th Callum Williamson, 8th Michael Keen, 9th Andrew Priolo, 10th Harli White, 11th Ben Van Ryt.

Heat 2: 1st Jason Kendrick, 2nd Ben Ellement, 3rd Kerry Madsen, 4th Jack Lee, 5th James Inglis, 6th Daniel Harding, 7th Brad Maiolo, 8th Danny Porter, 9th Glen Sutherland, 10th Lachlan McHugh.

Heat 3: 1st Jamie Oldfield, 2nd James McFadden, 3rd Mitchell Wormall, 4th Jye O’Keeffe, 5th AJ Nash, 6th Rusty Hickman, 7th Jamie Maiolo, 8th Kye Scroop, 9th Shaun Bradford, 10th Daniel Keen.

Heat 4: 1st Jack Lee, 2nd Kerry Madsen, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Mitchell Wormall, 5th Kaiden Manders, 6th Daniel Harding, 7th Jamie Maiolo, 8th Taylor Milling, 9th Andrew Priolo, 10th Danny Porter.

Heat 5: 1st James McFadden, 2nd Tom Payet, 3rd Ben Ellement, 4th Callum Williamson, 5th Brooke Tatnell, 6th Kye Scroop, 7th Harli White, 8th Glen Sutherland, 9th Ben Van Ryt, 10th Jamie Oldfield.

Heat 6: 1st James Inglis, 2nd Steven Lines, 3rd Jason Pryde, 4th Shaun Bradford, 5th Brad Maiolo, 6th AJ Nash, 7th Kye O’Keeffe, 8th Rusty Hickman, 9th Lachlan McHugh, 10th Michael Keen.

Bronze Shootout: Steven Lines 13.533, Ben Ellement 13.768, Daniel Harding 14.018, Rusty Hickman 14.134.

Silver Shootout: Steven Lines 13.696, Brooke Tatnell 13.732, Ben Ellement 13.822 and AJ Nash 14.596.

Gold Shootout: James McFadden 13.528, Steven Lines 13.532, Kerry Madsen 13.571 and Brooke Tatnell 13.725.

B Main: 1st Kye Scroop, 2nd Jamie Oldfield, 3rd Glen Sutherland, 4th Jamie Maiolo, 5th Harli White, 6th Andrew Priolo, 7th Jye O’Keeffe, 8th Danny Porter, 9th Lachlan McHugh, 10th Michael Keen, 11th Daniel Keen.

A Main: 1st James McFadden, 2nd Steven Lines, 3rd Kerry Madsen, 4th Brooke Tatnell, 5th Jason Kendrick, 6th Kaiden Manders, 7th Ben Ellement, 8th Brad Maiolo, 9th Jack Lee, 10th Rusty Hickman, 11th James Inglis, 12th Mitchell Wormall, 13th Jason Pryde, 14th Tom Payet, 15th Jamie Oldfield, 16th Glen Sutherland, 17th Callum Williamson, 18th Shaun Bradford, 19th Daniel Harding, 20th Taylor Milling, 21st Jamie Maiolo. DNF: Ben Van Ryt, AJ Nash and Kye Scroop.
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, October 23, 2021

::  Shannons Powerpalooza

Saturday, April 17, 2021

::  Super Speedway Grand Final

Saturday, March 27, 2021

::  Sprintcar Gold Cup

Saturday, March 13, 2021

::  AAA Metal Recycling Krikke Boys Shootout

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel