Ellement wins King of Wings

BEN Ellement is WA’s sprintcar King of Wings for the 2019-20 season.

Ellement won the 38th Scardifields Smash Repairs King of Wings at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night, hardly putting a foot wrong in the Muir Motorsports #53.

He started off the show in the best possible fashion, with a 13.975 second lap good enough to claim the Victory 1 Performance Quick Time award.

From there he took a second and a fourth in the heats and started on pole for the 40-lap feature race, that featured a mid-race infield pit stop, and went on to win the event from Callum Wiliamson and Daniel Harding.

The feature race had not even started and the field had lost the W60 of Lachlan McHugh who was due to start out of P9.

He joined Ben Van Ryt as a spectator, when the W75 suffered engine damage in qualifying and took no further part in the show.

Mitchell Wormall, who had just won the 360 sprintcar feature race and started from P14 in the main event, was the first race casualty, hitting the fence when coming out of turn four.

One lap in and Adrian Haywood was the next out after he tagged Aldo De Paoli in pits bend, with only the latter getting a restart.

The red lights came not long into the next restart when Jason Kendrick came together with Taylor Milling in the first turns, flipping hard and putting himself out of the show - Milling was able to get a restart.

Six laps in and it was Matthew Cross who spun around, forcing the field to bunch up again.

Ellement meanwhile had opened up a sizeable lead from Luke Dillon, Daniel Harding, Callum Williamson and Shaun Bradford when the pit stop was called with 12 laps in the book.

On the restart Ellement’s car stumbled and Dillon took full advantage, hitting the lead.

As they hit traffic Dillon went low to go underneath Cross while Ellement took the high side option and it paid off as he regained the lead.

Williamson was on a mission, first picking off Harding and then Dillon, sliding into second and preparing to mount a challenge on Ellement.

He snuck the front of the #3 into the lead on lap 22 but Ellement returned fire - only to see the move repeated a handful of laps later - and again Ellement was able to run the W53 on the boards and keep his wheels in front.

With a couple of laps remaining Williamson had one last roll of the dice but yet again Ellement showed he was not going to yield, taking his first 410ci sprintcar feature race victory with Muir Motorsport.

Dillon, who got the call up to fly across from South Australia and drive for Diamond Bay Motorsport, held on for fourth, ahead of Andrew Priolo who took fifth after starting from P12.

Shaun Bradford started and finished sixth, ahead of Milling who started on the front row with Ellement, AJ Nash who started 10th and finished eighth, Jason Pryde, Kris Coyle, Jamie Oldfield, Tom Callaghan, Daniel Hartigan, Trevor Jolly and De Paoli.

Heat wins went to Harding, Pryde, Milling and Williamson.

No drivers played their Jokers in this round and De Paoli was the winner of the Hoosier right rear tyre draw.

Williamson maintains his lead in the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series on 852 points, ahead of Coyle on 826, Pryde 823, Harding and Ellement on 706 each.

Round 5 of the series will be held at the Perth Motorplex next Saturday night.

Qualifying: Ben Ellement 13.975, Jason Pryde 13.991, Luke Dillon 14.028, Shaun Bradford 14.056, Taylor Milling 14.072, Callum Williamson 14.108, Daniel Harding 14.159, Jason Kendrick 14.198, Ben Van Ryt 14.249, Kris Coyle 14.264, Lachlan McHugh 14.344, Andrew Priolo 14.360, AJ Nash 14.419, Aldo De Paoli 14.440, Mitchell Wormall 14.508, Adrian Haywood 14.546, Tom Callaghan 14.589, Jamie Oldfield 14.610, Trevor Jolly 15.160, Matthew Cross 15.664, Daniel Harding NTT.

Heat 1: 1st Daniel Harding, 2nd Ben Ellement, 3rd Luke Dillon, 4th Lachlan McHugh, 5th Taylor Milling, 6th AJ Nash, 7th Mitchell Wormall, 8th Daniel Hartigan, 9th Tom Callaghan. DNF: Trevor Jolly. DNS: Ben Van Ryt.

Heat 2: 1st Jason Pryde, 2nd Shaun Bradford, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Andrew Priolo, 5th Callum Williamson, 6th Adrian Haywood, 7th Kris Coyle, 8th Jamie Oldfield, 9th Aldo De Paoli, 10th Matthew Cross.

Heat 3: 1st Taylor Milling, 2nd AJ Nash, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Ben Ellement, 5th Tom Callaghan, 6th Shaun Bradford, 7th Daniel Hartigan 8th Andrew Priolo, 9th Adrian Haywood, 10th Matthew Cross. DNS: Ben Van Ryt,

Heat 4: 1st Callum Williamson, 2nd Jamie Oldfield, 3rd Lachlan McHugh, 4th Luke Dillon, 5th Daniel Harding, 6th Kris Coyle, 7th Mitch Wormall, 8th Aldo De Paoli, 9th Jason Pryde, 10th Trevor Jolly.

Feature: 1st Ben Ellement, 2nd Callum Williamson, 3rd Daniel Harding, 4th Luke Dillon, 5th Andrew Priolo, 6th Shaun Bradford, 7th Taylor Milling, 8th AJ Nash, 9th Jason Pryde, 10th Kris Coyle, 11th Jamie Oldfield, 12th Tom Callaghan, 13th Daniel Hartigan, 14th Trevor Jolly, 15th Aldo De Paoli. DNF: Matthew Cross, Jason Kendrick, Adrian Haywood, Mitchell Wormall and Lachlan McHugh. DNS: Ben Van Ryt.

Series points: Callum Williamson 852, Kris Coyle 826, Jason Pryde 824, Daniel Harding 706, Ben Ellement 706, Jason Kendrick 700, Shaun Bradford 698, Mitchell Wormall 684, Andrew Priolo 572, Jamie Oldfield 568, Daniel Hartigan 526, Tom Callaghan 520, Aldo De Paoli 516, Trevor Jolly 510, Ben Van Ryt 446, AJ Nash 420, Todd Davis 416, Taylor Milling 406, Adrian Haywood 390, Mattheww Cross 380, Lachlan McHugh 326, Ben Butcher 250, Robert Watson jnr 246, Darren Mewett 200.
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 6, 2024

::  Super Speedway Grand Final

Saturday, March 30, 2024

::  Gold Cup/Sprintcar Easter Trail

Friday, March 29, 2024

::  Easter Trail Rd 1

Saturday, March 16, 2024

::  Silver Cup/WA Speedcar Title

Saturday, March 9, 2024

::  Mobil 1 Australian Speedcar Champiionship

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel