Tassie tiger too strong in Perth

JOCK Goodyer showed why he is one of the up and coming stars of Australian speedway when he won the feature race in round 12 of the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night.

The Tasmanian teenager showed some highline heroics in the last few laps to power around the outside of Jason Kendrick and take the popular win.

Kendrick held on for second (after starting P8) while James Inglis took third (after starting P10).

Goodyer came out of P6 in the 30-lap final after earlier being second quickest in qualifying on a track that he only saw for the first time on raceday.

He then started from pole and won his first heat race before a ninth in the next outing.

The feature race was not even a lap old when South Australian Brock Hallett, driving the WA-based J&S Drilling Motorsport entry, spun around in turn three after starting from P3.

Daniel Harding started from P2 alongside polesitter Andrew Priolo for the main event, and was the early leader from Callum Wiliamson who started from P5.

Priolo spun on lap three and did well to recover, only dropping to sixth and he was then locked in a good battle with Ben Van Ryt who had started from P4.

By the seventh lap Harding was into traffic and leading from Williamson, Goodyer, Priolo, Van Ryt, Shaun Bradford (who started P7) and Inglis.

On lap 12 Jamie Oldfield, who came out of P11, was into the fence in the first turns.

Not long after the restart Williamson pushed into the lead but this experience was short-lived as his left rear tyre departed the Williamson Motorsport #3 and he was lucky not to roll the car.

Drivers did well to avoid the loose wheel that was bouncing through the air, including Kendrick who had it coming straight at him.

On the restart Harding was in front from Priolo, Goodyer, Kendrick, Van Ryt and Inglis and it was Priolo to got the jump, with Kendrick also sliding into three, just as Matthew Cross spun in turn two.

By midrace distance Harding was leading from Goodyer, with Priolo now back in third from Kendrick, Bradford and Inglis, and a lap later Daniel Hartigan spun, causing another restart as Brad Maiolo, on his return race for the season, and Ben Ellement, who started from P9, both heading for the infield.

Kendrick opted to run a lower line in subsequent laps and was up to third on lap 17 and then second a couple of laps later.

He raced hard with Harding for a few laps before taking the lead on lap 12 but Harding was up to the challenge and reclaimed the spot and led after another restart when Tom Callaghan spun around.

A lap later Kendrick went back to the lead and Goodyer went to second as Priolo’s campaign ended with a cut down left rear tyre.

Ryan Lancaster and Hallett came together in pits bend a few seconds later and on the next restart it was Kendrick who led from Goodyer, Harding, Inglis, Bradford and Hartigan.

Inglis got a sniff and pushed to second on the restart but Goodyer was up to the challenge and then on the last few laps ran a higher line to round up Kendrick who had committed to the low line, taking the popular win.

Despite tagging the fence a few times, Harding held on for fourth, from Van Ryt who put in a solid night of racing to take fifth - on the back of his third at the previous outing.

Bradford held on for sixth from Wormall who did a great job to take seventh after starting out from P19, with Hartigan finishing eighth in an impressive run in the Sprintcar Parts Australia 83 after starting from P13.

Ninth went to Pryde who made up some ground after starting P16, crossing the line ahead of Coyle who started P14, Cross who moved up seven spots after starting P18 and Scroop who converted a P20 start into a P12 finish - another workmanlike effort.

It was a great start to Goodyer’s WA campaign that will see him resume World Series Sprintcars duties in Esperance next Friday night in a round that is not part of the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series.

The action then centres on Bunbury Speedway next Saturday night that is both rounds of WSS and the Maddington Toyota-backed competition.

Harding set the tempo at the start of the night, taking the Victory 1 Performance Quick Time with a 14.315 second lap, bettering that of Goodyer’s 14.378, Priolo’s 14.388, Hallett’s 14.419 and Bradford’s 14.425.

Harding then won the first heat race from Priolo and Maiolo, with Van Ryt stealing fourth from Ellement on the line.

The second heat went to Goodyer from Hallett and Williamson while the third heat was marred by early contact between Scroop and Wormall, putting them both on the infield, while Harding, who was also caught up in the incident, was able to get a restart at the rear, albeit with a damaged front wing.

Van Ryt, who started from P6, stormed to the lead and took the win from Bradford and Williamson.

The final heat went to Coyle who was locked in a spirited battle with Oldfield for a few laps before taking the win from Oldfield and Ellement.

Qualifying: Daniel Harding 14.315, Jock Goodyer 14.378, Andrew Priolo 14.388, Brock Hallett 14.419, Shaun Bradford 14.425, James Inglis 14.428, Brad Maiolo 14.441, Callum Williamson 14.444, Ben Van Ryt 14.473, Jason Kendrick 14.545, Ben Ellement 14.578, Daniel Hartigan 14.637, Mitchell Wormall 14.644, Jamie Oldfield 14.657, Tom Callaghan 14.691, Jason Pryde 14.728, Kye Scroop 14.918, Ryan Lancaster 14.922, Kris Coyle 14.997 and Matthew Cross 15.228.

Heat 1: 1st Daniel Harding, 2nd Andrew Priolo, 3rd Brad Maiolo, 4th Ben Van Ryt, 5th Ben Ellement, 6th Shaun Bradford, 7th Kye Scroop, 8th Kris Coyle, 9th Mitchell Wormall, 10th Tom Callaghann.

Heat 2: 1st Jock Goodyer, 2nd Brock Hallett, 3rd Callum Williamson, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th James Inglis, 6th Jamie Oldfield, 7th Ryan Lancaster, 8th Daniel Hartigan, 9th Jason Pryde, 10th Matthew Cross.

Heat 3: 1st Ben Van Ryt, 2nd Shaun Bradford, 3rd Callum Williamson, 4th Daniel Hartigan, 5th Brock Hallett, 6th Matthew Cross, 7th Jason Pryde, 8th Daniel Harding. DNF: Kye Scroop and Mitchell Wormall.

Heat 4: 1st Kris Coyle, 2nd Jamie Oldfield, 3rd Ben Ellement, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Andrew Priolo, 6th Ryan Lancaster, 7th James Inglis, 8th Tom Callaghan, 9th Jock Goodyer, 10th Brad Maiolo.

Feature: 1st Jock Goodyer, 2nd Jason Kendrick, 3rd James Inglis, 4th Daniel Harding, 5th Ben Van Ryt, 6th Shaun Bradford, 7th Mitchell Wormall, 8th Daniel Hartigan, 9th Jason Pryde, 10th Kris Coyle, 11th Matthew Cross, 12th Kye Scroop.
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 6, 2024

::  Super Speedway Grand Final

Saturday, March 30, 2024

::  Gold Cup/Sprintcar Easter Trail

Friday, March 29, 2024

::  Easter Trail Rd 1

Saturday, March 16, 2024

::  Silver Cup/WA Speedcar Title

Saturday, March 9, 2024

::  Mobil 1 Australian Speedcar Champiionship

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel