JMac wins WSS final and championship

JAMES McFadden won the Grand Final of the World Series Sprintcars Championship in fine style at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night, winning the feature race to wrap up the points chase over title contender Kerry Madsen.

In front of a large crowd, McFadden stole the lead from American Cory Eliason on the last corner, with David Murcott further back in third in what was also the penultimate round of the Maddington Toyota Sprintcars Championship that will conclude at Bunbury Speedway next Saturday night.

Madsen, who was challenging McFadden for the WSS title, was out in the feature race early.

The race was not even into the first corner when Taylor Milling crunched the main straight fence hard, forcing a full restart.

Eliason, who started on pole with local racer Brad Maiolo, was the early leader, with the latter slipping back into third and McFadden, who started P3, up into second.

Madsen was out of the contest on lap five when one of the front spindles let go, seeing the W2 retired to the infield.

On lap seven, Ben Ellement went over in pits bend for another restart and by lap 11 Eliason was into traffic and on lap 17 McFadden was on his tail.

Murcott, who started P8, dropped back to ninth at one stage, had settled into fourth by lap seven, a position he held until there were 23 laps in the book and he raced by Maiolo who had been consistent in that spot, but ultimately had to settle for fourth.

With one lap remaining McFadden opted for the higher line to try and round up Eliason who was running the defensive kerb well but proved no match for JMac who claimed the title in dominant fashion.

McFadden admitted afterwards that there was a bit of pressure removed when he saw Madsen’s car towed to the infield.

Jason Kendrick, who started P14, held down seventh for much of the journey before coming on strong at the end of the show to take fifth.

James Inglis, who started P5 and dropped as low as eighth at one stage, came home in sixth, ahead of Rusty Hickman who started P4 and finished seventh.

Taking eighth was Brock Hallett who was on a mission after charging through the pack after starting from P19.

Brooke Tatnell took ninth after starting from P10, crossing the line ahead of Ben Van Ryt who started ninth, dropped as low as 14 and came home in 10th.

American Lucas Wolfe started 15th, slumped to 18th at one stage and came home strong for 11th, ahead of Jock Goodyer who started 22nd, dropped a couple of spots early and claimed 12th.

Ryan Lancaster, who qualified well and was in the Dashes to start from P6, finished 13th, while Jason Pryde came out P23 to finish 14th.

Tom Callaghan converted a P24 start to a 15th place finish, ahead of Mitchell Wormall who also made the Dashes and started P7 before dropping as low as 21st and finishing 16th.

McFadden started his campaign off in the best possible fashion on the night, setting quick time with a 13.478 second lap, bettering that of Maiolo’s 13.641 and Hickman’s 13.659.

Matthew Cross was forced to change a top wing for qualifying after the inside left panel of his wing peeled off in hot laps.

Daniel Harding was forced to carry out major repairs after he clouted the fence in his qualifying laps.

The first heat went to Inglis while Ben Butcher was out after contact with Murcott and he missed the next round of heats to carry out repairs.

Eliason won the second heat while Kris Coyle was a DNF with motor issues, with the team changing it in time for the B Main.

Madsen was the heat 3 winner while heat four went to Wolfe, Andrew Priolo saluted his big crowd of supporters in the corporate marquee with a win in heat five and Inglis won his second heat, taking out heat six.

Ellement came from P3 to win the B Main from Haywood, Pryde and Callaghan (who came out of P7).


Qualifying: James McFadden 13.478, Brad Maiolo 13.641, Rusty Hickman 13.659, Mitchell Wormall 13.683, Taylor Milling 13.703, David Murcott 13.730, AJ Nash 13.859, Cory Eliason 13.870, Callum Williamson 13.874, Ben Van Ryt 13.884, Brooke Tatnell 13.956, Ben Butcher 13.968, Ryan Lancaster 13.991, Lynton Jeffrey 13.995, Jason Kendrick 14.003, Kerry Madsen 14.027, Andrew Priolo 14.037, Jock Goodyer 14.081, James Inglis 14.094, Adrian Haywood 14.096, Brock Hallett 14.159, Lucas Wolfe 14.174, Jason Pryde 14.195, Todd Davis 14.207, Ben Ellement 14.231, Tom Callaghan 14.255, Daniel Harding 14.273, Glen Sutherland 14.414, Kris Coyle 14.416, Matthew Cross 14.675.

Heat 1: 1st James Inglis, 2nd Jock Goodyer, 3rd James McFadden, 4th Ryan Lancaster, 5th Todd Davis, 6th Ben Ellement, 7th David Murcott, 8th AJ Nash, 9th Troy Lawson, 10th Matthew Cross. DNF: Ben Butcher.

Heat 2: 1st Cory Eliason, 2nd Adrian Haywood, 3rd Lynton Jeffrey, 4th Jason Pryde, 5th Brooke Tatnell, 6th Andrew Priolo, 7th Brad Maiolo, 8th Taylor Milling, 9th Tom Callaghan, DNF Kris Coyle,

Heat 3: 1st Kerry Madsen, 2nd Lucas Wolfe, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Brock Hallett, 5th Ben Van Ryt, 6th Callum Williamson, 7th Rusty Hickman, 8th Mitchell Wormall, 9th Glen Sutherland, 10th Daniel Harding.

Heat 4: 1st Lucas Wolfe, 2nd Ryan Lancaster, 3rd Kerry Madsen, 4th James McFadden, 5th David Murcott, 6th Ben Ellement, 7th Taylor Milling, 8th Todd Davis, 9th Adrian Haywood, 10th Matthew Cross. DNS: Kris Coyle.

Heat 5: 1st Andrew Priolo, 2nd Jason Pryde, 3rd Brooke Tatnell, 4th Cory Eliason, 5th Lynton Jeffrey, 6th Jock Goodyer, 7th Mitchell Wormall, 8th AJ Nash, 9th Troy Lawson, 10th Tom Callaghan.

Heat 6: 1st James Inglis, 2nd Brock Hallett, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Ben Van Ryt, 5th Brad Maiolo, 6th Callum Williamson, 7th Rusty Hickman, 8th Glen Sutherland. DNS: Daniel Harding and Ben Butcher.

B Main: 1st Ben Ellement, 2nd Adrian Haywood, 3rd Jason Pryde, 4th Tom Callaghan, 5th Kris Coyle, 6th Troy Lawson, 7th Matthew Cross. DNF: Ben Butcher, Glen Sutherland, Todd Davis. DNS: Daniel Harding.

A Main: 1st James McFadden, 2nd Cory Eliason, 3rd David Murcott, 4th Brad Maiolo, 5th Jason Kendrick, 6th James Inglis, 7th Rusty Hickman, 8th Brock Hallett, 9th Brooke Tatnell, 10th Ben Van Ryt, 11th Lucas Wolfe, 12th Jock Goodyer, 13th Ryan Lancaster, 14th Jason Pryde, 15th Tom Callaghan, 16th Mitchell Wormall. DNF: Callum Williamson, Andrew Priolo, Adrian Haywood, Lynton Jeffrey, AJ Nash, Ben Ellement, Kerry Madsen and Taylor Milling.

Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series top 10: Jason Kendrick 2376, Mitchell Wormall 2306, Daniel Harding 2226, Callum Williamson 2210, Andrew Priolo 2156, Kris Coyle 2094, Ben Ellement 1540, Jamie Oldfield 1534, Jason Pryde 1506, Matthew Cross 1500.
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 6, 2024

::  Super Speedway Grand Final

Saturday, March 30, 2024

::  Gold Cup/Sprintcar Easter Trail

Friday, March 29, 2024

::  Easter Trail Rd 1

Saturday, March 16, 2024

::  Silver Cup/WA Speedcar Title

Saturday, March 9, 2024

::  Mobil 1 Australian Speedcar Champiionship

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel